Feeling very proud for writing my first blog, I entered Krak贸w airport with a big smile. Krak贸w airport is very small airport but probably the one where Immigration took the longest time. Not sure if they don’t have Indian visitors, but it was the first Schengen country where I had to provide my fingerprints at the immigration. People standing behind in the queue was probably thinking what did she do. 20-25 minutes and I was out.

Welcome to Krak贸w. My home for next four days. On one hand, I was very excited to explore this new city but as I was going to stay (or more of like crash 馃檲) at Anton’s place (my teammate), I was bit worried. When I met Anton, Marina and cute Ewa, my worries disappeared within few seconds. After a short 15 mins ride from the airport, I was knocking on Medvetskiy’s door. Anton welcomed me to his place with his amazing smile and a cup of tea. He the only person that I know who always smiles.. literally always 馃榾

In evening, Four of us went for a stroll in the old town. How to begin with exploring this amazing city.. obviously Food 锔廇nd when you are with the local experts, all you need to do is follow their suggestions. Feast began with one of the Polish national dish, Pierogi. Pierogi are dumplings with sweet or savory filling. I went for cheese and potato filled dumpling.

Next stop Oscypek (os-TESH-peck) with Zurawina or cranberries. Oscypek is traditional smoked sheep’s cheese, which should be enjoyed with cranberries marmalade. Once again Yummy 馃檪

Okay Too much talk about the food. Along side food stalls, there are lot of stalls as well as shops for Polish souvenirs. While driving from airport to Krak贸w town, you can see聽lot of trees everywhere. As per Wikipedia, forests cover about 30% of Poland’s area. No wonder there are so many wooden products that you can buy as souvenirs. As I will be moving back to US soon, sadly I couldn’t buy anything heavy or bulky. However, I found two cute coasters 馃檪 Just few hours in Krak贸w and I was done with my souvenir shopping.聽A very well spent Saturday ! #Success!!

聽Whether I am at home or on vacation.. Sunday morning is always lazy morning. I was planning to attend Free Walking Tour of old town in the morning 10:00AM but then I just gave up to warm blanket and my sleep 馃檪 We decided to check out Wawel Castle to pay our respect to former Polish monarchy. Entry to grounds around Wawel Castle is free and definitely worth it.

Wawel Castle is home to the oldest legend of Krakow, a fire breathing dragon, known聽as Dragon of Wawel Hill. Story goes like this ( taken from聽urbanadventures blog)聽the dragon was聽a monster on a feeding frenzy, targeting innocent virgins. These maidens were sacrificed to the dragon in order to prevent him from plundering聽the countryside 鈥 that was, until he was thwarted by a local shoemaker, who tricked him into eating a sheep鈥檚 carcass filled with sulphur. The dragon became so thirsty from the sulphur that he drank and drank and drank from the nearby聽Wis艂a River, until he eventually exploded. In present聽world, luckily it is just bronze dragon statue by the local artist Bronis艂aw Chromy, which is designed to breathe fire at regular intervals.

We then continued exploring the castle.

10

4
Inside Courtyard of Wawel Castle

11

We then walked over to St. Joseph Church. Perfect Sunny Blue Sky 馃檪

12
St. Joseph Church

Now it was time to listen to the need of inner soul..Lunch:) Marina suggested聽a lovely restaurant.. Thanks Marina. The menu reminded me of my school days. With summer vacations coming to an end and before starting our new semester, we would spend hours and hours covering our new school books and notebooks in the brown paper.

img_20160925_145003040_hdr

image-0-02-05-1b2ee09db9d6736a73dfa35b96c05f5b3580e959141803a364600841368439e9-v
Happy Happy Us 馃檪

Evening was well spent in exploring the Jewish quarter, Kazimierz with Krakow Free Walking Tour . Kazimierz consists of lots of tourist attractions as well as some of popular cafe, bars and restaurants.

Isaac Synagogue was one the many sites that we visited on the tour. Krakow’s largest synagogue, you can see the remains of original stucco work and wall-painting decorations inside.

 

When you are in聽Kazimierz, you have to visit Alchemia or Propaganda cafes to feel the聽communist nostalgia and try Polish vodka 馃槈 And 聽then end the day with amazing Belgian fries.

It feels so good when it is Monday and you do not have to wake up to alarm. My day started with exploring Market Square, this time just by myself. I can go on and on about the old town and market square but I will try to be short. The Old Town is filled with many cosy, cobbled streets leading to Market Square. Market square is surrounded by many historical buildings and monuments, reminded me of Prague.

img_20160925_181225978
St Mary’s Basilica

img_20160925_180910274

img_20160925_172448177
Love this photo.. So many feelings So much happening in one frame
img_20160925_163638371
I am guessing traditional polish dance..
img_20160925_180734837
And look whom I found.. Dobby ! He doesnt seem to be so happy to see me 馃槈

Afternoon was spent very well shopping at Galaria Krakowska with Marina. Enjoying Pumpkin soup and the best ice cream in Krakow.

With lot of great memories, Anton and Marina as great friends, and a Kitty Mug (had to buy something in the Galaria ),聽now waiting for my overnight coach to Bratislava. I feel like I already miss this city and amazing people here. I will be back here in future.. one day definitely.

Oh yeah. Forgot to mention that I did manage to find聽sometime from having all the fun to book an AirBnb in a family house in Bratislava. Excited to wake up in another city in the world 馃檪

